Thursday, June 16, 2011

#001 Constitution for the Everyman Teleconference Series

The First Amendment

The First Amendment is, perhaps, one of the most often cited, yet most misunderstood, parts of the Constitution of the United States. A great many Americans can recite at least some of the clauses of the First Amendment, but most often, Americans recite language that has been drilled into them from childhood by the mandatory public education system and popular media.

What the First Amendment Is About

  • Prohibition on Establishment of Religion
  • Exercise of Religion
  • Freedom of Speech
  • Freedom of the Press
  • Freedom of Assembly
  • Petition for Redress

What You Will Learn

  • To whom the first amendment applies.
  • How to use reason to read legal English.
  • First Amendment rights in State Constitutions.
  • Supreme Court's role in perverting the First Amendment.
  • Application of First Amendment to the States.


This session will be presented in three segments.

  1. Opening: You will have a chance to raise your hand and ask a question related to the First Amendment. (Up to 15 minutes.)
  2. Presentation: Discussion of each clause in the First Amendment with references to landmark Supreme Court cases. (About 30 minutes.)
  3. Q & A: You will have a chance to raise additional questions related to the presentation. (Up to 1 hour.)


To prepare you to knowledgeably discuss the issues involving the First Amendment.

To dispel myths perpetrated on the masses about the First Amendment.

To disabuse you of ideas about the First Amendment that most people believe.

To bring crystal clear clarity to the purpose and meaning of the First Amendment.


Additional materials will be made available to registered participants prior to the teleconference. To receive these materials, please send an e-mail message to Everyman.

To ask a question for one of the question periods in writing, please post your question in the comment section below.

Teleconference Details

Saturday, June 18, 2011
5:00 p.m. Pacific
6:00 p.m. Mountain
7:00 p.m. Central
8:00 p.m. Eastern

Access Number: 402-237-2873
Passcode: 17760704#